Garry Kasparov

From Chessprogramming wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Home * People * Garry Kasparov

Garry Kasparov celebrating Alan Turing in 2012 [1]

Garry Kasparov, (born April 13, 1963)
a Russian chess grandmaster, former World Chess Champion, writer, and political activist. In the computer chess world, he is most famous for losing the match versus Deep Blue in 1997, stylized as one of the ultimate goals of computer chess by the computer chess and AI establishment [2], and publicised as humanity's defeat against the machine.

Brief Chess Career

Garry Kasparov became World Chess Champion after defeating Anatoly Karpov at the 1985 championship seven months after the controversial finish of the 1984 championship. He defended his title versus Karpov three times, 1986, 1987 and 1990. In 1993, a dispute with FIDE led Kasparov to set up the Professional Chess Association (PCA), yielding in a split title. Garry Kasparov played Nigel Short in the PCA match, and Jan Timman played Anatoly Karpov in the FIDE match, won by Kasparov and Karpov respectively. Kasparov defended the PCA title in 1995 versus Viswanathan Anand, and finally lost in 2000 versus Vladimir Kramnik. Garry Kasparov continued winning tournaments and was the world's highest-rated player when he retired from professional chess in 2005 [3].

Computer Chess

Garry Kasparov pioneered in using chess databases and chess engines for preparation - his further computer chess relations was due to product endorsement and licensees, as opening book author, and of course due to his man versus machine matches.

SciSys Endorsement

In 1983 Garry Kasparov started his cooperation with SciSys by Eric Winkler, in 1987 renamed to Saitek. Kasparov became additional brand name of SciSys and Saitek chess computers, the first one was the Kasparov Turbostar with a Heuristic Software program by Julio Kaplan and Craig Barnes [4]. Kasparov was also engaged as opening book author. The Kasparov Selected Openings, a 8 KiB ROM module featured many of Garry Kasparov’s favorite opening lines and contain an additional program which allows it to recognize transpositions [5]. It did not arrive until early 1985 [6]. Beside others, further notable Kasparov branded chess computer modules were Kasparov Brute Force with a Frans Morsch program, and Kasparov Sparc, the final program by Kathe and Dan Spracklen.


Garry Kasparov pioneered the use of databases and chess engines for opening preparation and for checking his ideas [7]. He was early tester and promoter of the ChessBase database [8].

Kasparov Licensees

Various commercial chess programs were Kasparov licensees [9], notably Kasparov's Gambit with a Don Dailey and Larry Kaufman program in 1993, Virtual Kasparov (2001) based on a chess engine by Marc-François Baudot and Jean-Christophe Weill, and Kasparov Chessmate (2003) based on the Ruffian engine by Perola Valfridsson.

Kasparov vs Machines



See also

Selected Publications

By Kasparov


1980 ...

1990 ...

2000 ...

2010 ...

About Kasparov


1990 ...



1998 ...

2000 ...

2010 ...

External Links


World Championship

Machine Matches



2010 ...

2015 ...

2020 ...


Up one level