From Chessprogramming wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Home * Organizations * AAAI

AAAI Logo [1]

the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence is a nonprofit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines. AAAI was founded in 1979 under the name American Association for Artificial Intelligence and changed its name in 2007 [2] .


Since 1985, Presidents have served a two-year term, preceded by two years as President-Elect, and followed by two years as Past President. Prior to that time, presidents served one year in each position [3] .

President term
Allen Newell 1979-1980
Edward Feigenbaum 1980-1981
Marvin Minsky 1981-1982
Nils J. Nilsson 1982-1983
John McCarthy 1983-1984
Woodrow W. Bledsoe 1984-1985
Patrick Winston 1985-1987
Raj Reddy 1987-1989
Daniel Bobrow 1989-1991
Patrick Hayes 1991-1993
Barbara Grosz 1993-1995
Randall Davis 1995-1997
David Waltz 1997-1999
Bruce Buchanan 1999-2001
Tom Mitchell 2001-2003
Ron Brachman 2003-2005
Alan Mackworth 2005-2007
Eric Horvitz 2007-2009
Martha E. Pollack 2009-2010
Henry A. Kautz 2010-2012
Manuela M. Veloso 2012-2014
Thomas G. Dietterich 2014-2016
Subbarao Kambhampati 2017

See also

Publications and Journals

Selected Publications

External Links


Up one level