ACM 1981

From Chessprogramming wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Home * Tournaments * ACM North American Computer Chess Championship * ACM 1981

< Prev Next >

Westin Bonaventure Hotel [1]

The ACM's Twelfth North American Computer Chess Championship (NACCC) was held from November 8 to 11, 1981 at the Bonaventure Hotel, Los Angeles, California, USA [2] .

Mike Valvo acted as Tournament Director, replacing David Levy, who previously served in that capacity and was expected to enter his own program. Tournament guests were Shelby Lyman [3], chess commentator for WNET's television chess shows and emcee for the Fisher-Spassky World Championship Match in 1972 [4] , and Isaac Kashdan, Chess Editor for the Los Angeles Times. A computer chess panel discussion and short paper presentation was part of the technical program [5] .

Final Standing


# Program CC 1 2 3 4 P SOS SoDOS
1 Belle US 7w1 9b1 2w½ 3b1 10
2 Nuchess US 10b1 4w1 1b½ 5w½ 3 11 8
3 Cray Blitz US 6b1 5w1 12b1 1w0 3 10
4 Bebe US 11w1 2b0 14b1 7b1 3
5 Duchess US 15w1 3b0 8w1 2b½ 9
6 Philidor GB 3w0 15b1 9w1 8b½ 8 4
7 Ostrich CA 1b0 16w1 11b1 4w0 2 8
8 Chess Challenger X US 14b1 12w½ 5b0 6w½ 2 3
9 L'Excentrique CA 16b1 1w0 6b0 12w1 2
10 MyChess US 2w0 11b0 15w1 14w1 2 2
11 Cube 2.1 US 4b0 10w1 7w0 13b½
12 CHAOS US 13w1 8b½ 3w0 9b0
13 Schach 2.5 DE 12b0 14w0 16b1 11w½ 4 ¾
14 Chaturanga US 8w0 13b1 4w0 10b0 1
15 Awit CA 5b0 6w0 10b0 16w1 1 7 0
16 Prodigy CA 9w0 7b0 13w0 15b0 0 0



Program CC Team Hardware Language
Awit CA Tony Marsland AMDAHL 470V/7 Algol-W
Bebe US Tony Scherzer Bit Slice Chess hardware Assembly
Belle US Ken Thompson, Joe Condon PDP-11/23, LSI-11
with custom boards
CHAOS US Fred Swartz, Mike Alexander, Jack O’Keefe,
Mark Hersey, Victor Berman
Amdahl 470 Fortran
Chaturanga US John Poduska Jr. 68000 based Apollo workstation Pascal
Chess Challenger X US Dan Spracklen, Kathe Spracklen,
Ron Nelson [8]
6502 based System Assembly
Cray Blitz US Robert Hyatt, Albert Gower,
Dave Darling, Derek Robb
Cray-1 Fortran IV
Cube 2.1 US Lloyd L. Lank, James A. Lank Cray-1 Fortran
Duchess US Tom Truscott, Eric Jensen, Bruce Wright IBM 370 Assembly
L'Excentrique CA Claude Jarry AMDAHL 470V/7 Assembly
MyChess US David Kittinger Z80 Cromemco T-2D Assembly
Nuchess US David Slate, William Blanchard CDC Cyber 176 Fortran
Ostrich CA Monroe Newborn 5-Nova Multiprocessing System Assembly
Philidor GB David Broughton, Mark Taylor,
David Levy, Mike Johnson, Kevin O’Connell
Z80 Osborne 1 Assembly
Prodigy CA Jonathan Schaeffer, J. Howard Johnson Honeywell 6600 C
Schach 2.5 DE Matthias Engelbach Burroughs 7800 Algol



The winner: Ken Thompson, programmer of Belle, acceps first-place trophy
from tournament organizer Monroe Newborn [9]

Selected Games

In Round 4, Cray Blitz (3) versus Belle (2½), Cray Blitz played the losing 28.Qxb6, and missed to win the tournament [10] [11] .

[Event "ACM 1981"]
[Site "Los Angeles USA"]
[Date "1981.11.11"]
[Round "4"]
[White "Cray Blitz"]
[Black "Belle"]
[Result "0-1"]

1.e4 e5 2.Nf3 Nc6 3.Bc4 Nf6 4.Ng5 d5 5.exd5 Na5 6.Bb5+ c6 7.dxc6 bxc6 8.Qf3 Rb8
9.Bxc6+ Nxc6 10.Qxc6+ Nd7 11.d3 Be7 12.Ne4 Bb7 13.Qa4 Qc7 14.Nbc3 Bc6 15.Qc4 Qc8
16.Nd5 Bxd5 17.Qxd5 Qxc2 18.O-O f6 19.f4 Nb6 20.Qa5 Qxd3 21.Qxa7 O-O 22.Qxe7 Qxe4
23.Qe6+ Kh8 24.fxe5 fxe5 25.Rxf8+ Rxf8 26.h3 Qe1+ 27.Kh2 h6 28.Qxb6 Rf1 29.Qd8+
Kh7 30.Qd3+ e4 31.Qxf1 Qxf1 32.a3 e3 33.Bxe3 Qxa1 34.Bd4 h5 35.Bc3 g5 36.Be5 Qe1
37.Bc3 Qf2 38.Kh1 g4 39.hxg4 hxg4 40.Kh2 Qh4+ 41.Kg1 g3 42.Kf1 Kg6 0-1

Game and short analyze on : [1]

See also

Tournament Director


Forum Posts

External Links


Up one level