WCCC 2008

From Chessprogramming wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Home * Tournaments * World Computer Chess Championship * 16th WCCC Beijing 2008

< Prev Next >

View from the hotelroom [1]

The Sixteenth World Computer Chess Championship took place from September 28 to October 5, 2008, Beijing Golden Century Golf Club, Qinglonghu Township, Fangshan District, Beijing, China, in conjunction with the 13th Computer Olympiad and the 6th International Conference on Computers and Games. After the disqualification of Rybka in June 2011, HIARCS is World Computer Chess Champion 2008 [2] .

Final Standing

16th World Computer Chess Championship, Beijing, CN [3]

# Program CC R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 R7 R8 R9 P
1 (-) Rybka US 9w1 5w1 4b½ 7w1 6b1 10w1 8b1 2w1 3b½ 8
2 (1) HIARCS GB 4b½ 7w1 6b1 10w1 8b1 9b½ 3w1 1b0 5w1 7
3 (2) Junior IL 5b½ 4w1 7b1 6w½ 10b1 8w½ 2b0 9b1 1w½ 6
4 (3) Cluster Toga DE 2w½ 3b0 1w½ 5b½ 9w1 7w1 6b0 10w1 8b1
5 (4) Shredder DE 3w½ 1b0 9w½ 4w½ 7b½ 6w1 10b1 8w½ 2b0
6 (5) Falcon IL 10w1 8b0 2w0 3b½ 1w0 5b0 4w1 7b½ 9w1 4
7 (5) Jonny DE 8w1 2b0 3w0 1b0 5w½ 4b0 9w1 6w½ 10b1 4
8 (7) Deep Sjeng BE 7b0 6w1 10b1 9b½ 2w0 3b½ 1w0 5b½ 4w0
9 (8) The Baron NL 1b0 10w1 5b½ 8w½ 4b0 2w½ 7b0 3w0 6b0
10 (9) Mobile Chess CN 6b0 9b0 8w0 2b0 3w0 1b0 5w0 4b0 7w0 0


16th World Computer Chess Championship, Beijing, CN

Program CC Authors, Operators Hardware
Cluster Toga DE Kai Himstedt, Ulf Lorenz, Thomas Gaksch, Clemens Keck,
Fabien Letouzey, Timo Klaustermeyer
Cluster, 24 cores
Deep Sjeng BE Gian-Carlo Pascutto Intel Core 2, 4 x 2.8GHz
Falcon IL Eli David, Erdogan Günes Intel Core 2, 2 x 2.1GHz
HIARCS GB Mark Uniacke, Harvey Williamson, Sebastian Böhme Intel Skulltrail, 8 x 4GHz
Jonny DE Johannes Zwanzger Cluster, 16 cores
Junior IL Amir Ban, Shay Bushinsky, Alon Greenfeld Intel Dunnington, 12 x 2.67GHz
Mobile Chess CN Huang Chen Nokia 6120c
Rybka US Vasik Rajlich, Larry Kaufman, Jeroen Noomen,
Hans van der Zijden
Intel 40-core (5x2x4)
Harpertown cluster
Shredder DE Stefan Meyer-Kahlen, Sandro Necchi Intel Core 2, 8 x 3.16GHz
The Baron NL Richard Pijl, Arturo Ochoa AMD Opteron 270, 4 x 2GHz


Prize Ceremony 1


David Levy, Hans van der Zijden, Harvey Williamson, Amir Ban, Gian-Carlo Pascutto, Xinhe Xu [4]

Prize Ceremony 2

Levy Uniacke ShannonTropphy.jpg

December 2011: ICGA President David Levy presents the Shannon Trophy to Mark Uniacke [5]


Chapter 16: 2008: Rybka Retains Title at the 16th WCCC

Forum Posts

External Links


Up one Level