Colossus Chess

From Chessprogramming wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Home * Engines * Colossus Chess

Colossus Chess 4.0 3D board on C64 [1]

Colossus Chess, (Colossus)
the series of chess programs by Martin Bryant developed from 1983 on an Apple II in 6502 Assembly, based on Bryant's former program White Knight. Colossus Chess 2.0 was the first commercial release in 1984 for the Commodore 64 and this and subsequent versions for other 6502, Z80, 68000 and 8086 based home computers and personal computers, such as Atari 8-bit, BBC Micro, Amstrad CPC, ZX Spectrum, Atari ST, Amiga, and finally for the IBM PC. Colossus Chess pioneered a sophisticated GUI with an optional 3D chessboard, and lot of new features for that time, and has become one of the best selling chess programs of all time [2]. Colossus Chess played the European MCC 1983 in London and the WMCCC 1984 in Glasgow.

Colossus Chess UCI

While the work on the commercial Colossus Chess series finished in 1991, Martin Bryant started a completely new and freely available UCI version in 2004, running under Windows, first written in C# then converted to C [3], released in 2005 through 2008 [4], as well as 13 years later in 2021 as 64-bit Windows executable [5].

Some features as mentioned in History / Test Results of the Colossus Chess UCI site [6]:




See also


Forum Posts

1996 ...

2000 ...

2010 ...

2020 ...

External Links

Chess Engines

Colossus 2.0

Colossus 3.0

Colossus 4.0

Colossus Chess 4.0 product manual (C64)

Colossus X

Colossus Chess UCI


The Colossus of Rhodes (novel)
Lorenz ciphers and the Colossus by Tony Sale, Bletchley Park [7]
The Fall of Colossus
Colossus and the Crab
Mark Clarke, Clem Clempson, Chris Farlowe, Dave Greenslade, Dick Heckstall-Smith, Jon Hiseman


Up one Level