CMU Chess Program

From Chessprogramming wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Home * Engines * CMU Chess Program

CMU Chess Program,
an early chess program developed by Joseph S. Rubenfeld and Robert W. Walker for the CDC G-21 system [1] [2] at Carnegie Mellon University, which was written in ALGOL 20 [3], not supporting recursion. In a letter to Allen Newell and Herbert Simon, after losing from Mac Hack VI on a PDP-10 on April 20, 1967, L. Stephen Coles mentioned a program by Rubenfeld for the G-21, which could make no more than a few moves a day due to teletype restrictions [4]. The listing of the CMU Chess Program is available via the CIT G-21 site [5].

See also


External Links


  1. Jesse T. Quatse (1965). Design of the G-21 Multi-Processor System. Carnegie Institute of Technology, pdf from the CIT G-21 site hosted by Mark Camillo DiVecchio
  2. Alan H. Bond (1968). Interactive Programming at Carnegie Tech. Artificial Intelligence 3, Literature: Reports hosted by Atlas Computer Laboratory
  3. Janet W. Fierst, et al. (1965). ALGOL-20 A Language Manual. Carnegie Institute of Technology, pdf
  4. L. Stephen Coles (1967). Memorandum - Chess at Carnegie Tech. pdf
  5. CIT G-21 - CMU Chess Program hosted by Mark Camillo DiVecchio

Up one Level